In the trenches…

I have finally had a chance to paint the rather lovely French engineer models made by Westfalia Miniaturen. Unfortunately only two of the three made it to the diorama alongside two Perry’s and a Foundry. I used a little kit from Architects of War for the tools. Two of the gabions are some sort of resin models I got somewhere. I used Renedra wattle and wooden fencing as earth bank re-enforcement. I have handmade wattle works in the past but thought I would have a go with the plastic kits. I bent both sections by placing carefully bending the sections around a jam-jar and keeping it in place with a rubber band, then placing it in a container of boiling water. When it cools it comes out curved – much easier and safer on the fingers than making it myself

The other four gabions are hand-made using wire – I wanted half filled structures for the collapsed part of the work  and two unfilled ones as head protection. I made a little sheepskin covered mantlet out of wood, Milliput and Green Stuff.

The lonely engineer now seeks employment somewhere. I will have to think.

I was hoping to have some pictures of my Seven Years War Imperial cavalry regiments, – 12 of them in total – but some of the figures have gone missing.  Some Austrian Dragoons and some Saxon Chevau-leger and maybe a couple of stands of Curassiers.

Deserted I guess. And who would blame them?

Current  commission works are the  Sassanid General and some more Napoleonic Generals. If anyone wants me to do anything as a commission please get in touch, especially if you want something a bit more interesting than just  ‘figures on a base’

The French ambulance is nearly done and I am planning the next set of vignettes that will be built and go on eBay. I am also going to start repairs on my 1/600 ACW fleets some of which are quite badly damaged and will need masts and rigging replaced. I am not sure I am looking forward to that. I might leave the rigging off this time.

Yes I think so…

Anyroads some pics of the ‘works’

From the enemy viewpoint

From the enemy viewpoint

From the left flank - note the shallow damage from cannon shot - this may need a bit more soil on it.

From the left flank – note the shallow damage from cannon shot – this may need a bit more soil on it.

From the left rear

From the left rear. A Voltigeur waits to have a shot.

trench2

Right rear view. A sharp shooter squints down his barrel, while an officer gets a good look with his telescope. Another engineer squeeses in to get a view, whilst a curious artilleryman looks on. Perhaps a wager is involved?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

